Douglas County Georgia Douglasville Hunter's Harvest Fall Festival

Douglas County Georgia Douglasville Hunter’s Harvest Fall Festival

Introduction

On a late-October Saturday, the grounds around the Ike Owings Community Center in Douglasville fill with vendor tents, families in autumn costumes and the smell of fair food. Douglasville is the county seat of Douglas County, a status a reference layer dates to 1874, and this festival is municipal programming run by the city itself.

Douglas County Georgia Douglasville Hunter's Harvest Fall Festival

Even the published name refuses to sit still. The city’s post for the 2026 edition prints it as “Hunter’s Harvest Fall Festival”, apostrophe included, while the city’s bulletin service drops the apostrophe entirely and writes “Hunters Harvest Fall Festival”. One bulletin long form stretches it to “Hunters Harvest Fall Festival and Arts & Craft Show”, a 2024 event listing renders it “Hunter’s Harvest Fall Festival & 5K”, and a 2020 bulletin shortens it to “Hunters Harvest Festival”. This article keeps every form in the layer that printed it and never standardises the spelling.

Admission has been free every time the terms were captured, each documented edition is a single Saturday, and the captured dates run from October 24, 2020 to October 24, 2026, with gaps this article records rather than fills.

About

The organiser is the City of Douglasville. Its government posts and its Parks and Recreation bulletins announce the festival year by year, and a 2024 event listing names the host and publisher as “City of Douglasville – Government”. No outside presenter appears in any captured layer.

The venue is Hunter Park, whose grounds hold the Ike Owings Community Center at 8830 Gurley Road, Douglasville. The park itself carries two printed name forms: most layers say Hunter Park, while others print Hunter Memorial Park. Neither form is settled here against the other; both stand as the sources give them.

For a useful comparison, see the Dougherty County Georgia Albany Street Festival for another county festival.

At its core the festival is a vendor gathering. Sellers travel in from West Georgia and Metro Atlanta with arts and crafts and food and beverage items, and the city’s announcements are written as much to recruit those vendors as to invite the public, which is why the surviving paperwork talks about spaces and applications far more than about crowds.

Quick Facts

ItemDetail
Published nameHunter’s Harvest Fall Festival in the 2026 city post; Hunters Harvest Fall Festival in city bulletins
OrganiserCity of Douglasville
VenueHunter Park, also printed Hunter Memorial Park, with the Ike Owings Community Center
Address8830 Gurley Road, Douglasville
County seatDouglasville, designated in 1874
Most recent documented editionSaturday, October 24, 2026, 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., billed as the tenth annual
AdmissionFree in every captured layer
Vendor terms, 2026 (partial)Traditional non-electric ten-by-ten space, forty dollars for residents and fifty dollars for non-residents; applications due October 9, 2026
Founding yearNot stated in any captured source
AttendanceNo figure published in any captured layer

History

No captured source states a founding year, and this article invents none. What survives instead is a run of annual billings that refuse to reconcile into a start date. The October 24, 2020 edition was billed the sixth annual; the October 28, 2023 edition was billed the seventh annual; the October 26, 2024 edition was billed the eighth annual; and the October 24, 2026 edition was billed the tenth annual. Read in sequence, those numbers do not advance one per year across the captured editions: between the sixth annual in 2020 and the seventh annual in 2023, three calendar years pass, and the count jumps from eighth in 2024 to tenth in 2026. The skip is recorded here openly. It is not harmonised or converted into a founding year, because the layers themselves never explain it.

The earliest captured edition ran on Saturday, October 24, 2020, from noon to 3:00 p.m., billed the sixth annual under the short bulletin name “Hunters Harvest Festival”, with a vendor fee of thirty dollars per vendor and announced as free and open to the public.

No edition for 2021 appears in any captured layer — a gap in the record, nothing more; the festival is not claimed to have paused, moved or run undocumented that year.

The next captured edition fell on Saturday, October 15, 2022, from 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., again announced as free and open to the public. Unusually, the captured bulletin text for 2022 carries no ordinal at all — no annual billing of any kind — so the year sits in the sequence without a number attached.

On Saturday, October 28, 2023, the festival ran from 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. as the seventh annual, and the city’s bulletin noted that more than forty vendors were expected. That figure is a vendor expectation published before the day — nothing more.

Saturday, October 26, 2024 brought the eighth annual, with longer hours, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., a five-kilometre run attached to the day per the event listing, and a vendor fee of forty-five dollars. Admission remained free in the listing’s terms.

No 2025 edition was captured in any layer, a second gap of the same kind as 2021. The festival then reappears in the city’s post for Saturday, October 24, 2026, billed the tenth annual, running 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. and described by the city as a free, fun-filled day, with a tiered vendor schedule discussed below. The documented rhythm is real but irregular: five captured Saturdays across seven Octobers, the billing count skipping as it goes.

Douglas County Georgia Douglasville Hunter's Harvest Fall Festival

What to Expect

Across every captured year, the constant is the vendor field. Stallholders from West Georgia and Metro Atlanta sell arts and crafts alongside food and beverage items, and browsing those rows is the day’s main activity. The bulletin long form’s mention of an arts and craft show captures the emphasis: this is a maker’s market with festival trimmings, not a midway carnival.

Two editions add elements the others do not, and each belongs strictly to its own year. In 2024, the event listing attached a five-kilometre run to the festival; no other captured layer mentions a run, and it is not projected onto any other edition here. In 2026, the city’s post describes a free Kids Zone with inflatables and fall activities, with costumes encouraged. The Kids Zone is likewise fenced to 2026: earlier bulletins do not describe one, so children in 2020 or 2023 should not be assumed to have found the same setup waiting.

Planning Your Visit

The single most useful fact for a first-time visitor is how brief the day is. The 2026 edition ran from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., four hours in total, and earlier editions lasted three to five hours. Arriving near opening time is the only way to see the full vendor field.

Admission costs nothing. The 2020 and 2022 bulletins and the 2024 listing all describe the event as free and open to the public, and the 2026 city post calls it a free, fun-filled day. There is no gate, no ticket and no wristband in any captured layer; you pay only for what you buy from vendors.

Anyone hoping to sell rather than shop should treat the published vendor terms as edition-specific. The fee was thirty dollars per vendor in 2020 and forty-five dollars in 2024. For 2026, the captured portion of the city’s post shows a tiered schedule: traditional non-electric spaces, each ten feet by ten feet, at forty dollars for residents and fifty dollars for non-residents, with vendor applications due by October 9, 2026. Only that portion of the schedule survives in the captured text, so it is presented here as partial; no price for an electric space appears in the record, and none is guessed at.

Aim for the Ike Owings Community Center at 8830 Gurley Road, which anchors the Hunter Park grounds. Families coming for the children’s activities described in 2026 should remember that the Kids Zone belongs to that edition’s announcement; checking the city’s current-year post before setting out is the reliable way to confirm what a given October will offer.

A Sample Itinerary

This outline follows the published shape of the 2026 edition, which ran from 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.; it is a way to use those hours, not a schedule the city printed.

  • 10:00 a.m. — Arrive at Hunter Park as the festival opens and walk the vendor rows while they are fully stocked, noting which craft stalls deserve a second look.
  • 11:00 a.m. — Let children loose in the Kids Zone described in the 2026 announcement, inflatables and fall activities included.
  • 12:30 p.m. — Graze the food and beverage vendors for lunch rather than leaving the grounds, since the afternoon is short.
  • 1:15 p.m. — Make a final circuit for purchases, picking up the pieces you flagged earlier.
  • 2:00 p.m. — The festival closes, and the rest of the Saturday is yours again.

How It Compares

Douglasville hosts other autumn gatherings that are easy to confuse with this one, and none of them is this festival. The Farmer’s Table and Metro Turf “Fall Fest” is a separate event run by private businesses, not by the city. The Cultural Arts Council’s Chili Cook Off & Fall Festival is likewise a distinct Douglasville occasion under a different organiser. Most confusing of all, the city itself runs a Therapeutic Recreation Fall Festival at the very same Hunter Park each September; sharing a city, a park and a season still does not merge it with the October vendor festival, and the two programmes are kept separate here.

Checklist

  • Confirm the current year’s date and hours in the city’s own post before travelling, since captured editions vary.
  • Arrive close to opening time; the longest documented day lasted five hours.
  • Bring a bag or tote for craft purchases from the vendor rows.
  • Carry small bills and a card, because individual stallholders set their own payment terms.
  • Dress children in costumes if the current announcement encourages it, as the 2026 post did.
  • If you plan to vend, note the application deadline early; the 2026 cutoff was October 9.
  • Do not budget for admission — every captured layer describes the event as free.

Beyond the Festival

A trip to Hunter Park puts you in the county seat, so the festival pairs naturally with an unhurried look at Douglasville itself before or after the short event window. The park and its community center serve as everyday recreation anchors outside festival Saturday. Given the event’s brevity, treat it as the centrepiece of a morning and give the rest of the day to Douglasville or the wider West Georgia area west of Atlanta.

Why It Matters

For a small municipal festival, the significance lies in continuity: a city government choosing, year after year, to spend an October Saturday on a free gathering built around local and regional makers. The billing irregularities — sixth annual in 2020, tenth in 2026 — tell their own honest story about a programme that has persisted across a decade without tidy bookkeeping, and the record’s gaps in 2021 and 2025 are part of that story. What the festival demonstrably does is give West Georgia and Metro Atlanta craftspeople a low-cost stall — thirty dollars in 2020, forty-five in 2024 — and give Douglasville families a free autumn outing in their own county-seat park. No attendance figure has ever been published for it; its importance rests on that steady, documented recurrence rather than on invented crowd sizes.

Douglas County Georgia Douglasville Hunter's Harvest Fall Festival

Frequently Asked Questions

Why does the apostrophe in the festival’s name keep appearing and disappearing?

Because the city’s own layers print it both ways. The 2026 city post writes “Hunter’s Harvest Fall Festival” with the apostrophe, while the city’s bulletin service writes “Hunters Harvest Fall Festival” without one, and longer and shorter variants exist in other layers. No single official spelling is settled across the sources, so this article preserves each form where it appeared rather than choosing one.

Do the annual billings reveal the year the festival started?

No. The captured billings — sixth annual in 2020, seventh in 2023, eighth in 2024 and tenth in 2026 — skip too much to be counted backwards into a founding year, and no source states a start year outright. The count does not advance one per year across the captured editions, and no 2021 or 2025 edition was captured at all, so any founding date derived from the billings would be guesswork.

What did it cost to be a vendor at the most recent documented edition?

Only part of the 2026 schedule survives in the captured city post: traditional non-electric spaces, ten feet by ten feet, cost forty dollars for residents and fifty dollars for non-residents, with applications due by October 9, 2026. The captured text shows no complete fee table and no electric-space price. Earlier fees were thirty dollars per vendor in 2020 and forty-five dollars in 2024. All of these are vendor charges; admission for visitors was free.

Is the September fall festival at Hunter Park the same event?

No. The city’s Therapeutic Recreation Fall Festival takes place at Hunter Park in September and is a separate programme event. The Hunter’s Harvest festival documented here is the October gathering; sharing a city, a park and a season does not make the two the same festival.

What to Expect From the Next Douglas County Georgia Douglasville Hunter’s Harvest Fall Festival

How often is Douglas County Georgia Douglasville Hunter’s Harvest Fall Festival held?

The captured record shows editions in 2020, 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2026, with no captured edition for 2021 or 2025 and a billing sequence that skips from sixth annual to tenth across those years. The festival plainly recurs in October, but the surviving layers do not support describing it as an unbroken yearly fixture, so its rhythm is best described as recurring with gaps in the documentation.

When is the next Douglas County Georgia Douglasville Hunter’s Harvest Fall Festival?

No organiser-announced date for a future edition exists in the record gathered here. The most recent documented edition is Saturday, October 24, 2026, billed the tenth annual, and any later date would have to come from a future City of Douglasville announcement; this article does not state one as confirmed.

Will the dates change?

They already have. Every captured edition landed on a late-October Saturday, but the day of the month moved — the twenty-fourth, fifteenth, twenty-eighth, twenty-sixth and twenty-fourth — and the hours shifted too, from three-hour editions to five. A future edition would most plausibly follow the late-October Saturday pattern, yet nothing in the record fixes a permanent date.

Closing

The Hunter’s Harvest Fall Festival is a small, free, city-run October gathering whose paperwork is more interesting than its scale: a name that cannot decide on an apostrophe, annual billings that skip, two silent years, and vendor fees preserved in more detail than any crowd count. Taken exactly as its layers present it — no founding year invented, no gaps plastered over — it is a fair portrait of how a county-seat city keeps an autumn tradition going.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *